Enterprise Zones

Prior to the formation of the LCR LEP (March 2012), two Enterprise Zones were proposed by three of the constituent local authorities of Liverpool City Region and were supported by a Shadow LEP Board. The Shadow Board included all six leaders of the constituent local authorities of Liverpool City Region who acted together as the Liverpool City Region Cabinet.

In 2011, Government created two Enterprise Zones that are located in Liverpool City Region, namely, Liverpool Waters (March 2011 later extended to include Wirral Waters and be known as Mersey Waters [MWEZ]) and Daresbury Science and Innovation (August 2011 known as Sci-Tech Daresbury).

Two governing boards were created to oversee these zones and their composition and terms of reference can be found here for MWEZ and here for Sci-Tech Daresbury.

Whilst the LEP Board is represented on the governing bodies no funding decisions are taken by the LEP Board in respect of the two EZs and by prior agreement the respective local authorities determine rate relief and capital allowances where appropriate and all retained business rates, where generated, are under the control of the local authorities and not the LEP.

More information can be found on each enterprise zone as follows;



Mersey Waters Enterprise Zone

Sci-Tech Daresbury


Sci-Tech Daresbury Enterprise Zone